Iwatani Corporation Site Map | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Japanese
Home About Iwatani News Release Products and Services Environment Investor Relations Inquiry  
Top > NewsRelease
Environment Environment
July 22, 2006

Konstantin Tsiolkovski Award received from the International Association for Hydrogen Energy

Iwatani International Corporation

Iwatani International Corporation (headquarters: Osaka & Tokyo, President: Akiji Makino, capital: 20,000 million yen) received the prestigious Konstantin Tsiolkovski Award from the International Association for Hydrogen Energy (Florida USA, President: T. Nejat. Veziroglu) at the reception (at Casino Carbonia) of the 16th World Hydrogen Energy Conference held in Lyon, France on Thursday, June 15.
The award was given in recognition of Iwatani's contribution, including the efforts of company founder Mr. Naoji Iwatani, to the progress of hydrogen energy over the past 50 years; recent contributions to the dissemination of fuel cell powered vehicles, and the company's forward-thinking and insightful decision to establish the Hydro Edge liquid hydrogen manufacturing company.
At Casino Carbonia, Mr. Kyohei Nishida, executive director of Iwatani International (in charge of the Technology Development, Hydrogen Energy and Safety & Environment Departments), took the stage and received the award from Dr. Veziroglu, president of the International Association for Hydrogen Energy (IAHE) to enthusiastic applause from the around 400 delegates at the conference. Mr. Nishida expressed his gratitude for the award and in his address at the award ceremony reiterated Iwatani's commitment to disseminating and promoting hydrogen energy.
IAHE established the awards in 1998, and this is the fifth award ceremony to date. There are five awards named after individuals and organizations that have made major contributions to the cause of hydrogen energy worldwide. Of these awards, the Konstantin Tsiolkovski Award, named after Professor Tsiolkovski, Russian pioneer of astronautics who first proposed hydrogen-fueled rocket propulsion for spaceflight and given to Iwatani International on this occasion, is for outstanding studies and activities relating to the use of hydrogen in the aerospace field.
Iwatani is the first Japanese corporation to receive this award.
Japanese corporations Toyota Motors and Honda have previously received the fuel cell-related Sir William Grove Award, in 2004.
IAHE celebrated its 33rd anniversary this year. The organization has been promoting hydrogen as a clean form of energy for which there are high expectations across the world, with the goal of making hydrogen the major energy source in future. IAHE has taken positive steps to achieve this goal, including PR exercises, international workshops, lectures, conferences and information sharing in the realm of hydrogen energy.
As part of these endeavors, the biennial World Hydrogen Energy Conference is held under the joint auspices of IAHE and the local hydrogen energy association. The 16th World Hydrogen Energy Conference was held in Lyon, France from June 13 to 16 this year. About 1,000 participants from 46 nations attended the conference, including scientists, researchers, government officials and delegates from the corporate sector. It is the largest international conference dedicated solely to hydrogen energy. Recent conferences were held in China in 1998, Brazil in 2000, Canada in 2002, and Yokohama, Japan in 2004.
The highest number of participants on this occasion was around 300 from France, followed by 120 from Japan, 70 from the U.S., then Germany, Canada, the United Kingdom and Italy.
Iwatani International sent a delegation of six staffs, made up of staff from the technological development and sales departments, and employees seconded to other organizations.